Auditions II. Zeta I

I met Legion before I was Zeta. I was just me, then. Not even a costume. I was beating up criminals in the street for fun. Mostly. I also wanted to attract the attention of the SVRA. I wasn’t being a vigilante for any sense of morality, or anything so noble. That’s not me. I wanted to try being on a hero team, and see if I enjoyed it.
I was punching out small time villains. People with minor stunning powers, small heat generation… stuff like that. Barely C class, some of them. Oh, I should explain that. Okay. So, there are a bunch of different power rankings. They say, essentially, how strong a person’s power is. They were invented back on March 28th, in 2016. It goes G, which is the weakest. If you have this, your power probably killed you at birth: whatever the reason, the power most likely involved heavy mutations that you just couldn’t withstand. Then, F. This is for the people whose powers make them weaker than most people, like those who have hollow bones… with no other birdlike traits. Then D. This is a power that doesn’t do anything, like being able to change the color of your own eyes or something. It might make your life a little more convenient, but nothing major.  Then, C. If someone has a C class power, they’re recruitable for a gang. It gives them an edge over the normal civilians. Maybe they can blow really hard, or paralyze people. Then you have B. B is the minimum for joining the SVRA. B powers are pretty useful. Flight, cryokinesis… usually these are standard powers. B rarely has unique things, but they’re decently powerful. Then, there’s A. A is one class, but there’s plenty of strength variation. I’m on the stronger side of A, so I can beat most metahumans in a one on one fight. But, my friend C…Discharge far outclasses me. He’s called an A, but he’s on par with the Enemies of Injustice, due to his resourcefulness in using an already powerful and versatile power. An A class can have standard or unique powers, but they’re always stronger than B classes. After A is the last class, S. S is reserved for the extremely powerful ones. Hacksaw, Samson…. ones like them.
I was fighting C class guys. In my defense, I only had two powers then. Fire and Lightning. Pyrokinesis and Fulgurkinesis. I was pretty weak myself, back then. I had just shocked a guy with knives for fingers. I saw him trying to mug someone, and I ran over, punched him, grabbed him by the neck, and gave him… a decent shock. I just realized I still have no idea how to measure my output. Holy crap. I need to get on that. But, back to my story. Shocked him, dropped him. I turned to the person I was saving, only to watch them turn into a bloody splatter before my eyes. I stared. Blood was dripping down into my eyes, but I didn’t stop to wipe it. That’s why I have no idea what hit me. All I know is that something hard slammed into me at a high speed. I was thrown… it must have been twenty feet. When I got up, there were two figures standing in front of me. I glared at them. I felt the rage building within me, and I let it out in a roar. As my fire bloomed around me, untouched by the inferno, I roared, “WHAT THE FUCK WAS THAT?” I let the fire die, savoring my rage. I got a clearer look at the people standing in front of me. One was wearing a black hoodie, with his face covered but an ominous aura around him. The other was dressed in a lab coat with a pair of heavy goggles covering most of his face. The latter raised his hand, and a blood-red crystal shot up from the ground, smacking me in the chin. I reeled, clutching my jaw. I shook my head out, growling slightly, and turning my flame on around my hands. Then, the crystal exploded. Red shards flew everywhere, and I hit the ground. The majority of them missed me, but a few shards (now pure white) lodged in me. I winced as I stood up. The one in the black hoodie walked forward, gesturing to the one who had bombed me. The scientist wannabe muttered, “Kruos,” and all around us, blue crystal started rising, forming a dome around the three of us. I faced off with the ominous one, ready for a fight. To my surprise, he bowed, and started speaking. “Hello, fellow metahuman!” He said in a theatrical tone, “My name is Legion! My companion here is Krustallos!”. I am a power switcher, and he makes crystals with various fascinating effects.” I stared at him in disbelief. He continued, “He created that bomb crystal that you were pitifully unable to dodge, and he created the arena we’re in right now! I should warn you though, it’s made of ice crystal. If you touch it, you’ll make this fight a very dull one. I’ve found myself rather bored, and I’m looking for a pick-me-up. Perhaps you can assist me?” I coughed.
“Um… Well, Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog is a great supervillai-” I abruptly stopped, as something flew past my head. All traces of his polite manner gone, Legion hissed at me, “Don’t be a moron!” He leaped at me, screaming, “DIE!”

Previous

Next

8 thoughts on “Auditions II. Zeta I

  1. “Flight, cyrokinesis… usually these are standard powers.”

    cryo, cryo, cryo, cryo

    He freezes the whole nation,
    the icy hand of sin,
    a typoed application,
    has been written in.

    It needs prudent correction,
    let the edits begin,
    Some swapped letters, rewritten remorse,
    if fixed it would be nice of course.

    Cryo, cryo, cryo, cryo,

    Your readers are a-reading,
    and watching so beware,
    the praise that you receive,
    is up to quality I swear,

    So make the Gecko gleeful
    or he’ll make you his mare…

    Now edit fast,
    this I won’t echo,
    up, up, and away,
    Signed, Psycho Gecko

Leave a Reply, or Legion will hunt you down and fart in your general direction

