Trial By Fire I. Zeta IV

The serval glared at me, and much to my surprise, said, “I’d rather not give anything else away here.” TMB and I looked around, and saw the other twenty people in the room just staring at us. Someone of them were making little circles around their ears. The serval disappeared, and I heard:

/You see, you’re a metahuman, if you haven’t figured that out by now./

/I’m an anarchist and an asshole, not an idiot. What’s my power?/

/Seven./

/I can make “7”s appear out of nowhere? Cool! 7, up the asshole!/

/No! As painful as that would be for the other guy, that’s not it. You have seven different powers. You pick one, and use it until you need another one./

/Alright! Give me my seventh power!/

/What?/

/The last one is always the strongest! I can destroy everything!/

/Sorry. Nope. Doesn’t work like that./

/What?/

/I eventually will be able to give you all seven, but you have to start with one, then two, etc./

/Wait… So I have to unlock each power before I can use it?/

/Yep./

/Eh. I’ll live. What’s number 1?/

/Hehe… You’ll have a chance to find out in about a-/

BOOM!

With a crash, the door to the weight room blew in, despite the barricade. The screaming mass of fire formerly my friend had completely lost its human shape, and now looked more like an amoeba than anything else.

I heard screams around me, but they were muted. I had an out-of-body moment, and I was staring at myself through a long tunnel. I could hear chanting, in a strange language with powerful words. They made me shake in anger and in joy, in laughter and in tears. For either a million years, or barely a second, I crouched on the floor, laughing and crying at once. I stood up slowly, trying to deal with the torrent of passion. When I did, I noticed that my sleeves were gone, but I was still too shell-shocked to really register it. Then I noticed my arms were on fire. It snapped me out of my trance, and I was about to freak when I noticed that the flames didn’t hurt. In fact, I felt better and stronger than ever.  I rolled my neck, grinning wildly.  “Finally,” I was thinking,  “a chance to really cut loose.”

Previous

Next

6 thoughts on “Trial By Fire I. Zeta IV

  1. Hello there, I think your blog could be having internet browser compatibility problems.
    Whenever I look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however,
    if opening in IE, it’s got some overlapping issues. I just wanted to provide you with a quick heads up! Other than that, excellent blog!

    • Thanks for the warning! Most of us are Firefox or Google Chrome users as it stands, so I’m not surprised we missed something’s as important as that. I’ll look into it right away. I’m glad you’re enjoying the story so far, and I apologize if it caused problems for anyone!
      -Discharge

      • Ah, goddamnit. I was about to reply. Yeah, we’ll check it out. Glad you like the story, it’s just getting started. Wait until you meet K-urp. Oops. Didn’t mean to say that. Just want to say, I’m glad someone finally commented! What else… Comment, vote on character profile page, yada yada. We love feedback.
        -Zeta

    • Well, normally people get an instinctive feel of how their power works at its most basic level, but it’s different for power-switchers and Zeta. Most power-switchers don’t instantly realize that they have multiple powers, while Zeta’s power is slightly screwed up, and that’s blocking his instinct.

  2. Sounds fun, a bit worried about the creation of an overly-powerful character though. So take care not to buff him up too much and too fast.

Leave a Reply, or Legion will hunt you down and fart in your general direction

